Which battles do you choose?

Standard

Should one look away because the wrong you see or the injustice you witness doesn’t directly affect you or yours?

You may pick the wrong battle, use and ruin your relationships — all because you saw something unbearable. Is it okay to do this only in personal situations and do a complete volte-face for public scenarios?

So if my friend is a physically abusive relationship, I shouldn’t say anything to her tormentor because she (the victim) isn’t protesting. Or should I make it my cause and use the Bell Bajao campaign and interfere? On a tangential note, the website asks ‘men’ to stand up. Women I think could also stand up. Mum-in-laws especially who tell their daughters that “beta agar marta hain tho koi reason hoga…

I ask because I truly am not sure. Why do we refrain from helping our friends from obvious harm, because we think it is interference but are okay doing it on a larger scale? Either way, some amount of hurt does come your way —  as a friend you don’t mind it because hey helping friends is not something you think about  and doing the same on a larger scale? Of course, even if one person changes thanks to you, all that harm can be channeled into a good way.

People tell me I pick the wrong battles and harm myself. Sure I harm myself but only because at that point it’s the only thing to do. And to stay without doing anything is a crime… especially when you know you can help, even if it means losing that friendship.

No?

3 responses »

  1. Just a thought wrt to ‘So if my friend is a physically abusive relationship, I shouldn’t say anything to her tormentor because she (the victim) isn’t protesting. Or should I make it my cause and use the Bell Bajao campaign and interfere?’

    Isn’t the real battle to get the victim to protest?

  2. i feel the same way. i’d lose a friendship if i had to, but i dont think i could sit by and just watch. recently someone said that you shouldnt interfere between a husband and wife – let them find their own equation. i’m going to send this link to them. simply because sometimes people dont even realise they’re being taken for a ride. whether its treating you like a maid and making you do dishes or beating you up. someone needs to tell you that you’re not being treated right.

    thanks babe. as usual you sorted out an issue that was playing on my mind.

Leave a Reply

