Slap them silly

Standard

I am amazed that people see me holding books (that I may or may not be reading) and still ask me.. “How can you read books that are soooo thick?”

I don’t understand whether they mean it in jest.. or are serious. I mean surely, once you have left school (and you profess a love for books), you stop asking this question.. even if you think it?

Maybe in school, when I went to buy books, and had a somewhat limited budget.. I would be particular on the thickness of the book. After all, one wanted more matter to read in the same cost.. But.. never because one size would be too daunting eh?

“Don’t read Shantaram,” she tells me. Wow, how did I manage to find another Shantaram hater I start thinking… and she kills it, “It weighs a ton.”

On another note.. I discovered a dangerous change in my behaviour.. when people start to bore me.. unwittingly my mind switches off.. my eyes glaze over I imagine and I am somewhere else. I actually stop listening to what they are saying. I am amazed that I can do this…and why hadn’t I known it before?

7 responses »

  1. Listen, weight is a somewhat valid excuse to not read a book, on the commute at least. (now, of course, we drive:), but bag becomes too bloody heavy. that’s why i didn’t put up a fight with the last few harry potters. tryst stoped at azakaban.

    the switching off is a handy tactic. handy, not dangerous.

  2. Don’t they ask you, “How can you read this book? No pictures or anything!”

    And yep…tuning off is dangerous. That’s when the most incriminating bits of information slip past you…and then they catch up with you least expect them to. 🙂

  3. Oh, that ‘turning off’ happens to you as well!!!…I do it so many times……Thankfully, haven’t really had to pay for it so far….

  4. Mukta: Yes missing incriminating bits.. has happened.. only to have disastrous results..
    Lazyblogger: So it’s a big club eh?
    Parmanu: This reading device will be the another step where ‘they’ will take us over.. :D. It reminds me of the Fahrenheit 451.

  5. On the other hand, someone asked me the other day, “How can you read such a thin book? Is it childrens’ fiction?”

    (The book in Q was Neil Gaiman’s ‘Stardust’, which is about 180/190 pages, and is a brilliant work of fantasy fiction).

    I mean, hell, A Clockwork Orange is pretty durn thin!

Leave a Reply

